

COUNTY OF SAN BENITO

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

481 FOURTH STREET, HOLLISTER, CA 95023 PHONE: (831) 636-4000 Fax: (831) 636-4010

Betsy Dirks District No. 1 Kollin Kosmicki District No. 2 Peter Hernandez District No. 3 Bob Tiffany District No. 4 Bea Gonzales District No. 5

March 22, 2022

City of Hollister City of Hollister Mayor Velazquez 375 Fifth Street Hollister, CA 95023

<u>RE: Support California Climate Investments Grant FY 2021-2022 application submitted</u> by Hollister Fire Department (21-FP-BEU-0054) to the Californnia Department of Forestry and Fire Protection (Cal Fire)

Dear Mayor Velazquez,

On behalf of the San Benito County Board of Supervisors, we express support for the Hollister Fier department Cal Fire grant application on behalf of the City and County Fire needs. Additional investment into our community's safety from one-time funds for fire prevention projects and activities in and near fire threatened communities that focus on increasing the protection of people, structures, and the communities.

The grant's focus includes Cienega Road on the South end and San Juan Canyon Road on the West end of San Benito County. The San Juan Canyon and the roadside drainage areas are historically difficult to maintain with our existing equipment. The focused areas include year-round visitors to the counties' communities, including tourism to local businesses, Agriculture (Wine Industry/Cattle Industry), State Parks, and local communities, residents, and schools. If the Hollister Fire Department were awarded this grant, equipment would be acquired to be used for future project areas within the county's unincorporated areas. This piece of equipment would allow the San Benito County Resource Management Agency to continue fuel reduction efforts for atrisk regions in San Benito County and support the County of San Benito Strategic Plan.

The San Benito County Board of Supervisors supports the grant proposal submitted by Hollister Fire Department.

Sincerely,

Chair of the Board of Supervisors San Benito County

cc: Honerable Assembly member Robert Rivas